Finding pen pal and paper craft supplies at thrift and consignment shops

This is my blog so I can ramble sometimes, right? I often find pen pal and paper craft related items at thrift shops for cheap: rubber stamps, stationery sets (“vintage” from the 1980’s or early 90’s), note cards, scrapbooking/cardmaking paper, envelopes, decorative scissors and punchers, notebooks, calendars, etc. I’ve had pen pals express surprise and state that they never find such at thrift shops. Really, I do! I sense some have doubts about my claims.

Maybe one reason I find these items is that I am in thrift shops regularly, at least once a week. One huge charity thrift shop that really clears the merchandise (gets lots of donations and sells a lot!) is only about 2 miles from my house. It easy for me to run in there on my way to or from somewhere else. There are 2 sections of the store with items that especially interest me, and I check those sections. I may only check those areas, going in and out of the store quickly. So don’t think I am spending excessive time in thrift shops! I am not. But my frequency increases my chance of finding items, as opposed to someone that only goes to thrift shops on occasion.

It is hit or miss. I may find nothing for a few weeks, even months, and then find something great or even a bunch of stuff or find stuff several weeks in a row!

There is also a huge consignment store about 3 miles from my house, and I find rubber stamps and paper craft items there – but less often than the thrift shop. The items cost slightly more, as it is consignment, but I still find good deals. The items decrease in price the longer they are in the store, and bargains can be found. The price slowly goes down from 25% off to 50% off to 75% off. They package rubber stamps in bags of about 5-15 instead of selling them individually like the thrift shops. Often, I only really like or want half the rubber stamps in a bag, and I’ll decide to take a “wait and see” approach, returning when they have been marked down.This is a risk, as someone else could buy them, of course! But I’ve also found the stamps still there, and got a bag for a deeply discounted price.

In closing, I visit a relative several times a year who lives about 3 hours from me in a small town, and this little town has 3 charity thrift shops! None as huge as the ones near me, but I always stop in these shops when I am there. I’ve never found rubber stamps, but I have found stationery.  I am always on the lookout in my travels – and you just never know what you will find…

5 thoughts on “Finding pen pal and paper craft supplies at thrift and consignment shops

  1. I believe! I’ve found some good stuff in thrift shops myself. In fact, I’d sent a postcard I’d written on a recipe card to Laura this morning! Selection does vary over time and between thrift shops. For example, I’m not sure I’ve ever found anything good at the Goodwills (yes, plural) along Almaden Expressway, but Happy Dragon in Los Gatos and the Thrift Box in Willow Glen have had some interesting offerings.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the confirmation Robert! One of my pen pals has amassed a huge rubber stamp collection from thrift shops. I see more stationery than I buy, as sometimes I just don’t like the design. I think thrift shopping requires patience. Often you must wait it out, for stuff to appear.

      Like

  2. I also buy a lot of my stationary from thrift shops/2nd hand shops. As long as they have not been used or have any stain on them I use them. I am always looking out for postcards , envelopes and note cards. As I write to many around the world I do not have a problem with using items from thrift shops. The thing that does bother me is when some second hand shops charge the same price for a postcard as would a bookshop or a tourist shop selling postcards. I do refuse to pay the same price as buying one from a bookshop etc. I do shop around for stationary and sometimes I am lucky , sometimes not. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Pricing at thrift shops can be odd and variable. I find things that (to me) are under-priced. I almost feel like I am stealing the price is so low! However, the opposite too. I see things that are over-priced, and realize I could buy it new from a regular store for the same price or even cheaper!
      I have never, that I remember, seen scenic postcards of the tourist type at thrift shops. However, I have on occasion seen postcard sets that are from a museum featuring artwork, a literary theme, etc.

      Like

  3. October may be a bad month for stationery shopping at thrift stores. I just noticed most of the places I go to have no stationery and a LOT of Halloween stuff. The seasonal items may have pushed the paper products off the floor for the duration.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.